Skip navigation

Gaming on linux is always an oxymoron to me…

1. Why would someone enjoy playing any of these lifeless copycat titles is beyond me. Maybe some of them are aspiring game developers compiling their own modified version of the games just to see how far they can stretch the graphic engine or something…

2. Some even pay for it every month. Willing to wait a few months for some latest hits to be running on their beloved desktop. Before receiving all the fun of gaming, they have to go through series of tweaking and patching just so they can play their bug ridden games. Compare to some overyhyped MMO charging $/month, MMO sounds really worth it.

3. I have to post this. This ‘guide’ is just so scary to me :|

References:

http://www.cedega.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=67&sid=1cfec780ce8b0a1fce2edf0f1f18ed5c

http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=313

You see gaming to me as a hardcore-casual gamer is really a time consumig activity.If I want some gaming fun I bet I spend my time on the best I could find.

Like some classic

or no machine can run me ‘full high’

you can never go wrong with console

Best Advice: Never game on linux. Reboot to you know what platform.

6 Comments

    • Miguel
    • Posted July 20, 2008 at 6:26 pm
    • Permalink

    I would reboot, but the WinXP minesweeper sucks big time, so I no longer bother ;-)

    By the way, I usually play some OpenArena (yes, Quake3) with my mates on LAN, and it’s great for some fun. I’d love to get a console, but if I get an Xbox I feel like financing my enemy. If I get a PS3, I feel like I’m spending too much for old games with new graphics, and if I get a wii I fear I will miss HD graphics. As you see, I’m hopeless.

    • Yonah
    • Posted July 20, 2008 at 10:05 pm
    • Permalink

    Open Arena is just sad. The maps are terrible. That’s the problem with Linux gaming. The resource pool of those who could potentially create content for the game is so small that it’s really hard to get some quality contributions. You’re literally scraping the bottom of the barrel, talent wise.

    Contrast the horrible maps included with Open Arena to the CTF maps ThreeWave introduced for Quake 3. No comparison.

    • penguinrage
    • Posted July 20, 2008 at 10:17 pm
    • Permalink

    To Miguel,

    You my friend are unmistakably the OSS Idealist.

    The truth is I feel no guilt playing x360 cause MS is never my enemy :)

    • Miguel
    • Posted July 20, 2008 at 11:09 pm
    • Permalink

    Yes, I probably am ;-) However, an Xbox 360 would still have the same pros and cons as a PS3. Nevertheless, the PS3 does serve as a bluray player. Playing “Won’t get fooled again” in Rock Band would surely be great, though.

    • Zed
    • Posted July 21, 2008 at 1:18 am
    • Permalink

    “You’re literally scraping the bottom of the barrel, talent wise.”

    Uh, no you’re not. Point to a barrel.

    • nick chan
    • Posted July 21, 2008 at 3:39 pm
    • Permalink

    Hey I want rss feed!!


Leave a comment